Skip to content

Functional Random

December 29, 2012
by

I didn’t notice this before David’s project.

Randomness is a form of art, a very different form from the predicted patterns.

When I was a child, I was fascinated by simple symbols, like Yin Yang Symbol:

Yin_yang_from_a_golden_spiral

I find beauty in this elegant and kind of mathematical object, it shows harmony and exactness.

Like Einstein, I believed that the nature of nature lies in “God doesn’t play with dice.” But Alberts are both wrong.

In real world, all the information we can get from nature are just probabilities.

Let’s recall the project work from David.

Screen Shot 2012-12-29 at 上午12.08.54

Like I said during the critique:

If I want to put a single circle into this picture, it can be anywhere. But if there are hundreds of circles, I should arrange it properly.

This effect can be seen in the behavior of electrons (for more), 

I think the difference between this kind of modern design and old pattens is just like the difference between classic and modern physics.

In classic, you write a function and set a boundary.

Here, you write a distribution function and give a number of random objects.

Yin_yang_from_a_golden_spiral_tilesapple-store-barcelona-clean.thumb_

 

photo

 

Apple-iPad-Mini-Media-Event

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

