Skip to content

Mexican Rugs

September 15, 2012

Yesterday, I finally unpacked a rug of mine and noticed that it had  a recurring circular pattern.  That made me think of a rug back at home in my living room that we had brought back from Oaxaca.  There, my parents know a family who hand weaves rugs.  I realized that many of the rugs they made had diamond patterns.  I discovered that one or more symmetric diamonds symbolize the four energy types contained in the human body and that each diamond contains a figure referred to The Eye of God.  Here are a few examples:

Zapotec Pattern:

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gabrielle permalink
    September 16, 2012 3:41 pm

    Very cool. Me encantan esos!

Leave a Reply

